Laundry Powder

I have used this recipe for several years and love it. It is inexpensive to make and works great. My six year old has not produced many stains that this formula has not battled and battled well.

It is low sudsing so it is safe for HE washers.

The differences you should expect.

  • Commercial laundry powder is highly perfumed – this is not. Clothes will smell and be clean but not fragrant.
  • This will not suds up or foam up.
  • You only use up to 1 tbsp per large load of laundry.
  • Aproximately 13 dollars will make the equivalent of 4 boxes of commercial powder.
First time shopping list. 4 bars Fels-Naptha. 1 large box baking soda(found in laundry aisle not baking aisle). 1 box washing soda. 1 box borax. I can get all of these in the laundry aisle of Publix. Wal-Mart usually has all but the Fels-Naptha.

20120415-233337.jpg

I have heard of many using a bar soap such as Dove or Dial instead with great results as well. I have only tried the below recipe myself.
Recipe:
1 bar of Fels-Naptha
1 cup Baking Soda
1 cup Washing soda
1 cup Borax
Directions:
Grate the Fels-Naptha or cut into small blocks and chop it in a blender. I think adding a little of your baking soda and a couple of small pieces of the soap at a time in the blender works best. Process until the powder is as fine as your blender is capable.
Add soap powder / baking soda mixture to other ingredients. I like to store it in a lock and seal type container. Shake this to mix and incorporate together.
7 Comments on “Laundry Powder”

  1. Shankevia says:

    I’ve been making my own detergent for almost a year now. However, I never thought to add baking soda. It will be in the next batch.

  2. Sharon Powell says:

    I use this laundry soap and it ROCKS. I will NEVER by Tide,Gain,etc. again 🙂 oh yea there is nothing my teenager can ruin (stain wise) again

    • The savings are unreal! I am always a little giddy when I make this and think that a load cost’s a couple of penny’s instead of the high dollar Tide I used to use! Woohoo to homemade laundry soap!

  3. Sue Boles says:

    I have used this laundry detergent for several years now and I want go back to my usual brand as long as I can buy the products to make my own. Thank you Karrie for sharing this with me. My whites are brighter and my colors doesn’t fade. It is a really good detergent. The first time my oldest granddaughter used it she said she wanted her brand. I told her to go buy it. She did. After that she has started helping us ground the soap up and is now using it with no complaints. Thank the good Lord above for granddaughters and standing up for what you beleive in. Thank you Karrie for all of your hard work and research and sharing this with us. You have made a believer out if us.

    • You are so sweet and I am so happy to be helping others with simple, more affordable options around the home. I look forward to see how many improvements the readers can make!


Leave a Reply

