Yogurt

Several months ago my little boo said daily “My stomach hurts!”. The first thing that came to mind was diet, constipation etc.. The second thing that came to mind was intestinal bacteria or the lack of. The third thing was yogurt! Then I said a big Boo! for the ingredients and sugar content of the kids yogurt.

20130416-132644.jpg

So, as you all know, I was on a mission 🙂

Come to find out making yogurt is not hard at all. I ended up buying a yogurt maker that included a cooling cycle because I usually make it at night and my little boo wants it the next morning. (she really does love it)

You can use what ever milk you prefer. I use organic 2%. I pay about 5 dollars for a gallon of milk. I have not tried almond milk, coconut milk or any other milk. I know others have but these instructions are assuming dairy milk is used.

So what is involved?

If you are making it in a yogurt maker like the two below…(I have used both and had wonderful results with each) these instructions will help. I have the second one listed.

20130416-133626.jpg

20130416-133703.jpg

Start your yogurt machine on a cycle that is one hour longer than the yogurt starter calls for. This will allow for the machine to heat to 110 degrees and when you add your milk, it will not get too cool for the starter.

Pour the same amount of milk as your unit will hold into a heavy bottom stainless steel pot on medium heat.

Heat to 185 degrees on a low to medium heat. Stir frequently to prevent the milk from scorching on the bottom. The milk will bubble up but you should not boil it. I use this thermometer.

20130416-134700.jpg
Once the milk reaches 185 degrees, turn the heat off and leave the milk on the eye to cool. Do not skip this step. Leaving the yogurt on the eye to cool will give the final yogurt that creamy and thick consistency.

Cool to between 110-113 degrees. This depends on what yogurt starter you use. I use this one from Cultures For Health

20130416-134903.jpg
If your yogurt cools a few degrees too cool, turn the eye back on and watch it carefully to heat to the needed temperature.

The flavor is mild. The consistency thick. The reviews are favorable. The company is quick.

Add your yogurt starter to the milk and stir side to side, not in circles or whisking, to incorporate.

Pour your milk and yogurt starter into your yogurt maker container(s).

If you did not start the yogurt machine earlier, now is time to do that. Each yogurt starter will state the recommended time to “cook” your yogurt in the machine. Use this suggestion.

Leave the yogurt for 8-10 hours (the longer you leave it, the more tart it will be).

Transfer the yogurt machine container to the refrigerator and cool.

You can puree fruit to add as you eat it. Have yogurt over oatmeal. However you like it … it will not disappoint.

*see Riley’s favorite organic chocolate syrup recipe that we use for her – two teaspoons of the syrup in her yogurt and she loves it AND it is less sugar than the store bought kind

2 Comments on “Yogurt”

  1. Sunnie says:

    Wow – I really want to start making my own yogurt (I’m vegan, and the soy yogurt can be kind of expensive). Is it pretty easy? Or kind of hard? I sometimes get intimidated by stuff like this! 🙂

    • I find it easy. Even if your milk burns in a tiny place you can strain it through one of those super fine metal mesh coffee filters and it will be fine. You will want to strain it into your container it will incubate in, add yogurt starter and stir side to side.

      I only have experience in making dairy yogurt so please google the type of milk you will use. I will be happy to help you if I can.


Leave a Reply

